Institute for Structural Mechanics

Research and teaching in computer-oriented methods of nonlinear structural mechanics

The team of the Institute for Structural Mechanics conducts basic research in many areas of computational mechanics. The research goals are strongly methodologically oriented. As early as in the 1980s, the Institute developed its own finite element program (CARAT) into which the newly developed methods and algorithms were implemented. Today, the program NumPro, written in C++ in an object-oriented manner, is the uniform platform for the research work of every doctoral candidate.

The research objects cover a broad spectrum spanning many disciplines, from the simulation of sheet metal forming processes to the modelling of the trapping mechanisms of carnivorous plants to the design of adaptive load bearing structures for building and bridge construction. In addition to the published research results, the most important product of the institute are the doctoral graduates, who can acquire deep and broad specialist knowledge in this environment.

Teaching at the Institute for Structural Mechanics covers the scientific basics of structural mechanics and is thus intrinsically multi-material and multi-constructional. Methodically, it focuses on clarity and the relationship between load-bearing behaviour and calculation methods. Ekkehard Ramm's teaching of structural assessment on the basis of archetypical structural components instead of the use of counting rules to assess the degree of static indeterminacy is just one example of the guiding principle of statics in Stuttgart. He was also one of the first to introduce the topic of modeling into the otherwise very formal and mathematical teaching of the finite element method.

The continuous development of computer statics requires to constantly challenge and renew teaching contents and goals. The teaching software StaR2 (der StabwerksRechner) developed at the institute allows not only the quick control of manual calculations but also invites to experiment. Classical structural analysis methods are nowadays less needed for recalculation, but they are indispensable for reflection.

History

In April 1958, with the appointment of Professor Friedrich Wilhelm Bornscheuer (1917--2015), the  "Lehrstuhl für Baustatik und Elastizitätslehre" (Chair of Structural Mechanics and Elasticity) - today's Institute for Structural Mechanics ("Institut für Baustatik und Baudynamik") - was founded. Thus, three new institutes followed the "Lehrstuhl für Statik der Massivkonstruktionen", at which Emil Mörsch and Karl Deininger dealt with reinforced concrete and solid bridge construction from 1916 to 1939, and the "Lehrstuhl für Statik und konstruktiven Ingenieurbau" (Hermann Maier-Leibnitz), focusing on iron building construction and iron bridges: In addition to the newly established chair, namely the "Lehrstuhl für Massivbau" (from 1958 Fritz Leonhardt) and the "Lehrstuhl für Stahlbau und Holzbau" (from 1956 Walter Pelikan).

Fritz Leonhardt addressed to the then university management as part of his appointment procedure:

"A separate chair should be established as soon as possible for the evolving field of structural analysis, the task of which must be to systematically simplify and elucidate this difficult field of knowledge."

He implicitly calls for a canonical structural analysis based on scientific principles instead of the strongly material- and standards-based, utilitarian "concrete structural analysis" and "steel structural analysis". Consequently, the teaching of structural analysis at the University of Stuttgart has always been seen as intrinsically multi-material and multi-constructional.

Under the direction of Ekkehard Ramm, the "Institut für Baustatik" evolved in the years 1983 - 2006 into an internationally visible research institution with a focus on shell theory, the finite element method, form finding and optimization as well as computer-oriented methods of structural mechanics in general.

Manfred Bischoff has headed the Institute for Structural Mechanics since 2006. The new designation "Institut für Baustatik und Baudynamik" reflects the growing importance of dynamics in structural engineering practice.

Contact:

Dieses Bild zeigt Bischoff
Prof. Dr.-Ing. habil.

Manfred Bischoff

Head of Institute

 

Institut for Structural Mechanics

Pfaffenwaldring 7, D-70550 Stuttgart

To the top of the page

Dieses Bild zeigt

Institut für Baustatik und Baudynamik

Forschung und Lehre in computerorientierten Methoden der nichtlinearen Strukturmechanik

Das Team des Instituts für Baustatik und Baudynamik betreibt Grundlagenforschung in vielen Bereichen der computational mechanics. Die Forschungsziele sind stark methodisch orientiert. Bereits in den 80er Jahren wurde ein eigenes Finite-Elemente-Programm (CARAT) am Institut entwickelt, in das die neu entwickelten Methoden und Algorithmen implementiert wurden. Heute ist das in C++ objektorientiert geschriebene Programm NumPro die einheitliche Plattform für die Forschungsarbeit jedes Doktoranden und jeder Doktorandin.

Die Forschungsgegenstände decken von der Simulation von Blechumformprozessen über die Modellierung der Fangmechanismen fleischfressender Pflanzen bis hin zum Entwurf adaptiver Tragwerke des Hoch- und Brückenbaus ein breites, viele Disziplinen umspannendes Spektrum ab. Neben den publizierten Forschungsergebnissen sind die Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden, die sich in diesem Umfeld ein ebenso tiefes wie breites Fachwissen aneignen können, das wichtigste Produkt des Instituts.

Die Lehre am Institut für Baustatik und Baudynamik vermittelt die wissenschaftlichen Grundlagen der Tragwerksmechanik und ist damit intrinsisch material- und konstruktionsübergreifend. Methodisch setzt sie auf Anschaulichkeit und den Bezug zwischen Tragverhalten und Berechnungsverfahren. Die bereits von Ekkehard Ramm gepflegte Lehre der Tragwerksbeurteilung auf der Basis von Grundtragwerken anstelle der Anwendung von Abzählformeln zur Beurteilung des Grades der statischen Unbestimmtheit ist nur ein Beispiel für das Leitbild der Stuttgarter Statik. Er war auch einer der ersten, der die Frage der Modellbildung in die ansonsten sehr formale und mathematische Lehre der Methode der finiten Elemente einbrachte.

Die anhaltende Entwicklung der Computerstatik erfordert ein ständiges Hinterfragen und Erneuern der Lehrinhalte und -ziele. Das am Institut entwickelte Lehrprogramm StaR2 (der StabwerksRechner) erlaubt nicht nur die schnelle Kontrolle von Handrechnungen sondern lädt auch zum Experimentieren ein. Klassische baustatische Verfahren werden heute weniger zum Nachrechnen benötigt, sind aber unverzichtbar für das Nachdenken.

Geschichte

Im April 1958 wurde mit der Berufung von Professor Friedrich Wilhelm Bornscheuer (1917--2015) der Lehrstuhl für Baustatik und Elastizitätslehre – das heutige Institut für Baustatik und Baudynamik – gegründet. Dem Lehrstuhl für Statik der Massivkonstruktionen, an dem sich Emil Mörsch von 1916 bis 1939 und danach Karl Deininger mit Stahlbetonbau und Massivbrückenbau beschäftigten, und dem Lehrstuhl für Statik und konstruktiven Ingenieurbau (Hermann Maier-Leibnitz) mit dem Schwerpunkt auf Eisenhochbau und eisernen Brücken folgten damit drei neue Institute: Neben dem neu eingerichteten Lehrstuhl nämlich der Lehrstuhl für Massivbau (ab 1958 Fritz Leonhardt) und der Lehrstuhl für Stahlbau und Holzbau (ab 1956 Walter Pelikan).

Fritz Leonhardt schrieb im Rahmen seines Berufungsverfahrens an die damalige Hochschulleitung:

"Für die umfangreich gewordene Baustatik sollte so bald als möglich ein eigener Lehrstuhl eingerichtet werden, dessen Aufgabe es sein muss, durch kritisches Ordnen dieses schwierige Wissensgebiet zu vereinfachen und übersichtlicher zu machen."

Er mahnt damit implizit eine kanonische, auf wissenschaftlichen Grundlagen basierende Baustatik anstelle der stark material- und normenbezogenen, utilitaristischen "Massivbaustatik" und "Stahlbaustatik" an. Folgerichtig versteht sich die Lehre der Baustatik an der Universität Stuttgart schon immer als intrinsisch werkstoff- und konstruktionsübergreifend.

Unter der Leitung von Ekkehard Ramm entwickelte sich das inzwischen umbenannte Institut für Baustatik in den Jahren 1983 - 2006 zu einer international sichtbaren Forschungseinrichtung mit Schwerpunkten auf der Schalentheorie, der Methode der finiten Elemente, Formfindung und Optimierung sowie computerorientierten Methoden der Strukturmechanik allgemein.

Seit 2006 leitet Manfred Bischoff das Institut für Baustatik und Baudynamik. Die erneute Namensänderung trägt der wachsenden Bedeutung der Dynamik in der Baustatik-Praxis Rechnung.

Kontakt:

Dieses Bild zeigt Bischoff
Prof. Dr.-Ing. habil.

Manfred Bischoff

Institutsleiter

 

Institut für Baustatik und Baudynamik

Pfaffenwaldring 7, 70550 Stuttgart